The other day, I made myself a bacon egg and cheese bagel for breakfast. As is my wont, I poured Old Bay hot sauce on it. Trust me, it’s a tasty sandwich flavor combination.

As I picked up my sandwich to take a bite, a tiny droplet splashed onto the orange plate. I didn’t think anything of it until I had finished my breakfast and looked down at my almost empty plate. What I saw when I looked closer at the droplet seemed familiar to me. As it turns out, some melted cheese and stray hot sauce had formed an almost perfect yin and yang symbol!

This struck me as appropriate somehow. The red hot sauce coming together with the cool white cheese in perfect harmony. Both in the sandwich and in this tiny droplet that fell onto my plate. This happenstance made me smile that morning as I finished my coffee.